top of page
Writer's picturesarahgrady11

San Sebastián, Spain

Updated: Oct 14, 2023

My first trip to Spain was in 2019. I had just finished an archaeological dig in Austria and spent a month in Barcelona. I was going from Barcelona to Bilboa and was searching for what to do in Bilboa.


That's when I found a post telling me to stop in San Sebastián. One of the benefits of being a solo traveller is the only person I had to ask was myself.


I said, Let's go.

So off I went to San Sebastián and fell in love. Literally.


I fell in love with the city and I fell in love with my now husband. So that is why my first post is about Spain. I now go to San Sebastián several times a year.


I can never get enough, especially of the jamón Iberico and txakoli, a sparkling Basque white wine.


And my favorite place to eat and drink these things is at La Cepa, a restaurant in the Old Town.


At La Cepa, order the bocadilla mixto con jamón iberico. It's not a pintxo, it's a full-size sandwich, but I promise you won't be disappointed ! The ham comes from the ham you see hanging on top of the bar, yummmm.

Txakoli with ham hanging in the background at La Cepa

A few pictures from my many travels to San Sebastián

I always get so excited when I have my next trip to San Sebastián planned. I just got back last month and I go back in two months !




44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page