top of page
Writer's picturesarahgrady11

Solo Female Traveler in Spain

Updated: Oct 15, 2023

My first time to Spain was in 2019. I had just finished working on an excavation in Austria (I am an archaeologist) and I was spending the next three months travelling Europe alone.


A solo female posing
Me in Casa Vicens


Yes, I was scared. But I knew I could do it. And if you want, so can you !!


So off to Spain I went. Alone.


My first stop was Barcelona. I found a program called Workaway, so I was going to live with a family for a month (for free) teaching the 7 year old son English. You can read more about my experience in Barcelona in my 5 days guide to Barcelona (not everyone is lucky enough to spend a whole month here so I shortened the guide to 5 days.



A solo female in Barcelona, Spain
Me at Parc Guëll


Many people, especially women, are afraid of travelling alone. Follow my mom's advice and don't go out by yourself at night. Yes, some things in Barcelona are night

time activities, like the Magic Fountain or watching the sunset.


My best advice to you as a fellow solo female traveller is be smart. Be aware of your surroundings. Don't put your bag down, even if it's just for a second. If you want to enjoy the nightlife, you can ! But if you're alone, don't get drunk and don't go home with that strange man you met at the bar.


So, if you want to go to Barcelona and none of your friends are making the commitment, go alone ! Don't wait, go now !

Recent Posts

See All

3 commenti


sarahgrady11
sarahgrady11
19 ott 2023

That's so great to hear ! You inspired me to write another blog about solo female traveling :)

Mi piace
Lera Kuderska
Lera Kuderska
19 ott 2023
Risposta a

That's so sweet 🥹 and very interesting to know more about your experience!!

Mi piace

Lera Kuderska
Lera Kuderska
19 ott 2023

That's so cool and inspiring! Actually that is my big dream – to solo travel. I hope that I will be able to make it true during the gar year after I finish my uni🤞 Thanks for sharing your amazing experience – reading about it makes me feel less anxious 😁

Mi piace
bottom of page